

Department of Business and Industry

## Nevada Division of Insurance

1818 E. College Pkwy, Suite 103, Carson City, Nevada 89706 Phone: (775) 687-0700 Fax: (775) 687-0797 Web: doi.nv.gov

## M8C EARLY SURRENDER OF DEFENDANT Due within 10 days after the surrender of the defendant

(Please Print or Type)			
Bail Agent/Bail Agency Name:	For Division Use:		
License Number:			

NAC 697.550 Early surrender of defendant.

1. No bail bondsman may surrender a defendant back into custody without good cause before the time specified in the bond for the appearance of the defendant.

2. "Good cause" includes, but is not limited to ....

Defendant Name:			
Law Enforcement Agency Notified:		Event Number:	
Charge:			
Bond Amount:	Premium:	Court Fees:	
Court:	Case Nun	ıber:	
Date of Surrender:	Time of Su	ırrender:	
Good Cause for Surre	nder:		
		nte)	
Surrendering Agent:			
Surrendering Agent.	Signature, printed name, license number (d	ate)	
Arrest executed by:	Signature, printed name, license number (d	-4-)	
	Signature, printed name, license number (c	ate)	
Surrendering Agent:	Signature, printed name, license number (	date)	

## NAC 697.550 Early surrender of defendant.

1. No bail bondsman may surrender a defendant back into custody without good cause before the time specified in the bond for the appearance of the defendant.

2. "Good cause" includes, but is not limited to:

(a) Information from a source credible under the circumstances that the defendant intends to fail to appear before the appropriate court at the date and time prescribed.

(b) Materially false information on the application of a defendant.

(c) An increase by the court in the amount of bail beyond sound underwriting criteria employed by the licensee.

(d) A material change in the collateral posted by the defendant or one acting on his behalf.

(e) A change of address or telephone number by the defendant made without giving reasonable notice to the licensee.

(f) Commission of another crime, other than a minor traffic violation, by the defendant while on bail.

(g) Failure by the defendant to appear in court at the appointed time.

(h) A finding of guilt against the defendant by a court of competent jurisdiction.

3. If a bail bond agent surrenders a defendant before the time specified in the bond, the agent shall, within 10 days after the surrender, complete and mail to the commissioner a statement concerning the surrender, including the information required on Form M-8C, available from the commissioner of insurance.

[Comm'r of Insurance, M-8 § XXV, eff. 11-22-78]